All natural, vegan vitamin D3
What is Vitamin D?
Vitamin D is a group of fat-soluble molecules responsible for many biological effects. The most important compounds in this group are vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) and vitamin D2 (ergocalciferol). Cholecalciferol is the preferred form due to its better bioavailability. Studies found that D3 remains active in the body for longer periods.
D3 is the only vitamin the human body can synthesize itself in the lower layers of the epidermis. This reaction is dependent on sun exposure. Dietary recommendations base typically on oral consumption, since biosynthesis is variable and prolonged sun exposure is not generally regarded as safe and advisable due to the elevated risk for skin cancer.
Sources of Vitamin D3
Dietary sources of vitamin D are generally scarce and vitamin D3 is almost exclusively found in animal based foods, such as fatty fish, beef liver, egg yolk. Fungal sources typically supply vitamin D2. Lichen as a natural, non-animal source of vitamin D3 has been made available for some time; the concentration of D3 is, however, very low and a wide use is restricted by a comparatively high price.
The synthetic production of vitamin D3 has so far been completely dependent on lanolin – fat from sheep’s wool. Hence, vegan alternatives were difficult to find and/or very expensive.
A real and attractive alternative…
For the first time, vegans and vegetarians now have a commercially attractive all-natural alternative:
In cooperation with our development partner for decades, ECA Healthcare Inc., we are excited to present our new vegan vitamin D3.
At the core of the production is an all-natural fermentation process, starting from an all natural food compound: phytosterols.
Vegan vitamin D3 will be available
- in oil form with 1 mio i.u./g
- in microencapsulated, cwd powder form with 100.000 i.u./g
- is solvent free
- pesticide free
- sugar free
- gluten free
Please contact us for further information, specifications and samples!